Taking a look for yourself

Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are.-John Wooden, Basketball coach

I came upon this quote while stumbling around online a while back. It intrigued me particularly because at the time I had been dealing issues of my reputation being questioned (or so I thought, it very well could be my imagination, the devil is tricky) and coming to a place in my life where I had to tighten my circle of friends because I just did not know who would misinterpret what of what I did or said. For a long time I felt uncomfortable with expressing myself fully becauseI would never know what someone would then concoct and conjure up about my character. After reading this quote I had to remind myself that you can never really know what someone thinks of you or what they will hear about you. Especially depending on whether they hear it from your best friend or your worst enemy, and whats even more interesting is that there is nothing you can do about. The only thing you can do is be confident that you are living your life the the you can,as much as you can and not be afraid because of what someone else thinks of you. So, in taking my own advice Ichose to not be afraid to express myself in the best way I saw fit in any situation. For me that means, laughing when I am scared, crying when I am happy, and making jokes whenever I deem appropriate, and whoever-however can take it anyway they feel but I will only live life FOR ME.

Leave a Reply

